Collapse AllExpand All

Appendix A: Upgrading Eucalyptus

If you are upgrading from a previous version of Eucalyptus, follow the directions detailed in this section.

Migrating Users

There are two considerations for migrating users during the upgrade process:
  • In Eucalyptus 3.1.1 the concept of user has changed. What used to be a user is now an account, and the user is an identity within the account. In the upgrade process to Eucalyptus 3.1.1, users are converted to accounts.
  • Eucalyptus 3.1.1 enforces case insensitivity. So a user labeled john and another user labeled JOHN will collide during the upgrade process. You must either relabel conflicting accounts or be aware that Eucalyptus will relabel these accounts. For example, the upgrade process will maintain the john label but will relabel the other one as john-.

Migrating VLAN Range

In Eucalyptus 2.x, there were per-cluster settings in the web user interface for Min VLANs and Max VLANs. These values defined the range of numeric VLAN tags allowed for that cluster. In some cases, this was necessary due to limitations of the network switches being used. Failing to preserve these values might break your cloud's network configuration.
In Eucalyptus 3.1.1, the VLAN tag range is a global setting. The safest thing is to choose a range that is the intersection of the user's per-cluster settings from 2.x. However, this will not always be the preferred configuration for each user.
Use the euca-describe-properties command to display the new settings:
PROPERTY    cloud.network.global_max_network_tag    1000
PROPERTY    cloud.network.global_min_network_tag    2

Finding Backup Files

The upgrade process creates a backup to /var/lib/eucalyptus/upgrade/eucalyptus.backup.<timestamp>. For example:
/var/lib/eucalyptus/upgrade/eucalyptus.backup.1326905212
If the upgrade fails and needs to be reverted to your earlier version, you can find your preserved data in this directory.